Baku officially undertakes Eurovision-2012 song contest

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionSend to friendSend to friend

Azerbaijan, Baku, Jan. 25 / Trend M. Aliyev /

Eurovision-2012 song contest symbolic key handover ceremony has been today held in Baku.

During the event at the Buta Palace the mayor of last year's Host City of Düsseldorf Dirk Elbers handed over the symbolic key to the Eurovision Song Contest to the mayor of this year's Host City Hajibala Abutalibov.

Thus, Baku officially hosts the contest.

The official slogan of the "Eurovision 2012" is "Light your fire!" The logo describing the slogan depicts the Sun, which symbolizes the fire that has a special place in Azerbaijani culture, openness, tranquility and peacefulness, the Moon and the stars, says a press release by the contest's Core Team.

"We appeal to all spectators of the Eurovision-2012 song contest with this slogan from the Land of Fire to ignite a spark in their hearts to support peace, love for humans, mutual aid," read the press release.

Executive Producer of Eurovision Jon Ola Sand, Event Supervisor of the Contest Sietse Bakker and contest's other officials attended this ceremony.

Handing over of symbolic key of the Eurovision contest was broadcast live by the Public Television and Radio Broadcasting Company of Azerbaijan, the official website of the contest as well as TV channels of some countries members of the European Broadcasting Union.

Representatives of the public broadcasting companies of Georgia, Finland, Germany, Serbia, Malta, Moldova, Estonia, Belarus as well as reporters of the Euronews TV channel have arrived in Azerbaijan to cover the ceremony.

Semifinal rounds of the contest will be held in Baku on May 22 and May 24, Final will be held on May 26.
Azerbaijani duo Eldar Gasimov and Nigar Jamal (Ell / Nikki) with their pop-ballad "Running Scared" won the Eurovision Song Contest 2011.

Azerbaijan does not take part in the draw. According to the contest terms, a winner country of the previous contest, as well as Great Britain, France, Germany, Spain and Italy are admitted to the final without going through the semi-final stages.