UAE nominates two members on AGU trustees board

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Send to friend: 

Manama, June 12 (BNA): The UAE has nominated Dr. Mohammed bin Ibrahim Al-Mualla, Academic Affairs Undersecretary of the Ministry of Education, and Dr. Mohamed Yousif Baniyas, Executive Director of Higher Education at the Abu Dhabi Education Council, for membership on the Board of Trustees of the Arabian Gulf University (AGU).

President of the AGU, Dr. Khalid bin Abdulrahman Al-Ohaly, welcomed the new members joining the Board of Trustees, which is responsible for drawing up the university’s general policy to ensure that it fulfils its academic mission to the fullest.

The statute stipulates that each Member State is to be represented by two members, one being an Undersecretary of the Ministry of Higher Education, or a person acting as such, and the other shall have experience in the higher education sector, appointed by a decision of their government for a renewable period of three years.

Dr. Al-Ohaly appreciated the nomination of the Minister of State for Higher Education, Dr. Ahmad Belhoul Al-Falasi, to the new members who will enrich the Board of Trustees. He also praised the support provided by the Member States for AGU’s scientific and developmental march. He affirmed the ongoing implementation of the new strategy which focuses on innovation, scientific research and academic excellence. He also affirmed interest in enhancing the quality of education, developing students' leadership and personal skills, engaging in international partnerships and financial sustainability.

AGU’s strategy is based on six pillars: enhancing the innovation environment at AGU, focusing on the quality of education and research, focusing on students in terms of education and the development of thinking and leadership skills, addressing the strategic issues of Gulf society, as well as enhancing regional and international strategic partnership and cooperation. The last objective is to promote financial sustainability through the development of self-resources and the establishment of AGU endowments.