FINA Swimming World Cup 2018 Doha Kicks off on Thursday

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Send to friend: 

Doha, September 12 (QNA) - Qatar is ready to host the FINA Swimming World Cup 2018 edition, which will begin on September 13, with leading swimmers targeting a rich medal haul at Hamad Aquatic Centre.
The first day's events include 10 races which are: women's 400m freestyle, men's 400m freestyle, women's 50m back, men's 200m back, women's 200m butterfly, men's 100m butterfly, women's 200m breaststroke, men's 100m breaststroke, women's 50m freestyle and men's 50m freestyle.
Olympic and World Champion Le Clos the last year's overall winner at FINA World Cup will continue be in Doha where he picked six medals including four gold medals last year. Russian world record holder Vladimir Morozov and his compatriot Kirill Prigoda will join the South African maestro in men's battles.
American Michael Andrew, who won four titles at the US Nationals this year and Aussie Mitchell Larkin have also confirmed their participation.
The women line-up also offers a treat for fans as Sweden's Sjostrom the last year's overall winner and Hungary's Katinka Hosszu, famous as the 'Iron Lady' will also return to Doha, promising top-notch action.
Hosszu's compatriot Zsuzsanna Jakabos, Dutchwoman Ranomi Kromowidjojo and China's Yifan Yang are among the other female stars who will also be seen in action at the Hamad Aquatic Centre.
Host Qatar will field as many as 20 swimmers who will battle against the big names during the three-day competition. The squad includes Abdalla Mohamed Aboughazala, Abdulaziz Hassan Al Obaidly, Firas Binmourad Said, Abdulla Nabil Alkhaldi, Ahmad Tarek Samara, Abdulaziz Abdulla Buhendi, Mohammed Ali Al Khanji, Naser Yaser, Kareem Salama, Youssef Hesham, Mohamed Mahmoud, Abdulrahman Mohammed, Yacob Abdulaziz Al Khulaifi, Noah Abdulaziz Al Khulaifi, Omar Ashraf, Tameem Mohamed, Abdelrahman Hesham, Mohammed Fahad, Nour Eddine and Yousef Abdulaziz Al Khulaifi.
The event will hold 33 competitions with qualifying rounds in the morning session, where the best eight records qualify to compete in the evening session. (QNA)