ID :
Wed, 01/22/2020 - 16:19
Auther :

Istanbul Photo Awards announces jury for 2020 contest

The Jury members to judge entries in the sixth Istanbul Photo Awards -- an international news photography contest held by Turkey's leading Anadolu Agency -- were announced on Wednesday. The jury members of the Istanbul Photo Awards 2020 are Yuri Kozyrev, a photojournalist with Dutch-based NOOR Agency; Marion Mertens, a senior digital editor at Paris Match in France; Michel Scotto, AFP's head of photo business development in France; Deborah Copaken, an American photojournalist and author; Georges De Keerle, a photojournalist and visual media consultant; Cameron Spencer, Getty Images sports chief photographer; Ahmet Sel, a senior photojournalist with Anadolu Agency; Hasan Oymez, the editor-in-chief of Anadolu Agency's Visual News Department, and Firat Yurdakul, photography editor for Anadolu Agency. Jury members will meet this March to select the winner of the international photo contest. The Istanbul Photo Awards is organized by Anadolu Agency, which has worked with a great number of photojournalists throughout its 100 years in journalism and aims to support the profession of photojournalism. The application period of the contest, to which 80 photographers across the world applied in approximately three months, was extended until Feb. 15, according to a statement from the agency. The contest has four categories: Single News, Story News, Single Sports, and Story Sports. Professional photographers can apply for the contest via, the statement said. The winner of the Single News category will be honored as Photo of the Year with a prize of $8,000, while winners in other categories will get $5,000 for first prize, $3,000 for second prize, and $1,500 for third. Much like years past, this year's winning photos will be displayed throughout the year at exhibitions in Turkey and abroad, including New York, Istanbul and Tokyo.