Sports Cricket Samaraweera omitted from Sri Lanka squad for series against Pakistan

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Send to friend: 

Colombo, September 21, 2011 (PPI): Sri Lanka have left Thilan Samaraweera out of their squad for upcoming Test cricket series against Pakistan in the UAE, while Dinesh Chandimal's recall means they have four wicketkeeper-batsmen in the 16-man squad.

Samaraweera was dropped for third Test against Australia after a string of poor scores in first two Tests, and will be left at home when Sri Lanka head to Abu Dhabi for the first Test, which starts on October 18. Ajantha Mendis is other major omission. The spinner was a part of squad that lost series to Australia, but did not play any part as he was hampered by a back injury.

Chandimal was not part of the squad for Australia series despite impressing during one-dayers in England, but he has now been included alongside fellow wicketkeepers Prasanna Jayewardene & Kaushal Silva, with Kumar Sangakkara also able to perform wicketkeeping duties when required. Chandimal, Silva and fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep are three uncapped players in the squad.

Sri Lanka squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Angelo Mathews (vc), Tharanga Paranavitana, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayewardene, Prasanna Jayewardene (wk), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Rangana Herath, Suraj Randiv, Chanaka Welegedara, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Dammika Prasad, Nuwan Pradeep, Kaushal Silva (wk).